Skip to main content

Case Note

Can a WSIB Claim Include a Neck Injury After a Head Strike at Work?

A 2026 WSIAT decision explains when a workplace head strike can support a neck injury claim — and what evidence is needed for ongoing or permanent benefits.

6 min readReviewed by Sunish Rai Uppal2026 ONWSIAT 964 (CanLII) ↗

Case snapshot

At a glance

Case
Can a WSIB Claim Include a Neck Injury After a Head Strike at Work?
Court / Tribunal
Workplace Safety and Insurance Appeals Tribunal
Date
August 21, 2026
Area of law
Employment Law
Key issue
Whether a worker who struck her head on overhead equipment could claim entitlement for a neck injury, a permanent neck impairment, and a recurrence of a compensable head injury under Ontario's workers' compensation system.
Outcome
The appeal was allowed in part: the tribunal granted entitlement for a soft tissue neck strain arising from the workplace accident, but denied entitlement for a permanent impairment, a Non-Economic Loss award, and a recurrence of the head injury.
Why it matters
This decision illustrates how WSIAT weighs medical evidence, contemporaneous records, and the timing of symptoms when deciding whether a workplace injury entitles a worker to ongoing or permanent WSIB benefits.

Legal principle

The rule from this case

Under the Workplace Safety and Insurance Act, 1997, a worker who is injured in an accident arising out of and in the course of employment is entitled to benefits. The standard of proof is the balance of probabilities, with the benefit of the doubt going to the worker when the evidence is roughly equal. For causation questions, the tribunal applies a 'significant contribution' test — the workplace accident does not need to be the only cause of an injury, but it must have been a contributing factor of considerable importance. For a permanent impairment to be recognized, there must be evidence of physical or functional abnormality that continues after the worker reaches maximum medical recovery. For a recurrence of a compensable injury to be recognized, the worker must show a marked deterioration in the original condition that is clinically compatible with that injury and was not caused by a new accident. Both findings depend heavily on the continuity and consistency of the medical record.

Important limits

What this does not mean

This decision does not mean that every head injury at work automatically includes an entitlement to a neck injury claim. The tribunal accepted a neck strain only because the mechanism of the accident — striking the top of the head — was reasonably compatible with a jarring sensation in the neck, and because the employer's own contemporaneous report noted a neck injury. The tribunal rejected chronic whiplash because the mechanism did not include a flexion-extension movement. It rejected work-related cervical radicular symptoms because they did not begin immediately, or within a short time, after the accident. The decision also does not establish that a worker will receive permanent impairment benefits simply because an initial injury is accepted. The tribunal found no entitlement to a permanent impairment because there was a gap of roughly a year in documented neck symptoms, no consistent treatment record, and no reliable evidence of ongoing functional limitations. Workers should not assume that an accepted injury will automatically lead to a NEL award without a continuous and well-documented medical record.

Can a Worker Claim a Neck Injury When the Workplace Accident Involved Hitting the Head?

Yes — but only if the mechanism of the accident is reasonably compatible with a neck injury, and the medical record supports it. In Decision No. 447/26, 2026 ONWSIAT 964 (CanLII) (https://www.canlii.org/en/on/onwsiat/doc/2026/2026onwsiat964/2026onwsiat964.html), the Workplace Safety and Insurance Appeals Tribunal (WSIAT) accepted that a worker who struck the top of her head on overhead equipment in an operating room sustained a soft tissue strain of the neck. The employer’s own contemporaneous report had noted both a head contusion and a neck strain, and the tribunal found it reasonable that the impact caused a jarring sensation in the neck.

However, the tribunal drew a clear line: accepting a neck strain is not the same as accepting every neck-related diagnosis that comes later. It rejected chronic whiplash because the accident, as the worker described it and as the contemporaneous forms recorded it, did not involve a flexion-extension movement of the neck. It also found that radicular symptoms in the left arm were not caused by the February 1, 2019 accident.

What Evidence Does WSIAT Look at to Decide Initial Entitlement for an Injury?

WSIAT uses a five-point framework to assess initial entitlement: there must be an employer, a worker, a personal work-related injury, proof that an accident occurred, and compatibility between the diagnosis and the accident. In this case, the tribunal focused on the last two points — whether the accident actually happened as described, and whether the injuries claimed were consistent with how it happened.

The tribunal placed significant weight on the employer’s Form 7, which was completed close in time to the accident and described the worker striking her head. It also considered the worker’s own testimony and the forms she submitted. Where later medical reports described the accident differently — adding a flexion-extension movement of the neck that no contemporaneous record mentioned — the tribunal declined to accept that version of events.

Why Was Whiplash Rejected Even Though Two Doctors Diagnosed It?

Whiplash was rejected because the mechanism of the accident did not fit the recognized definition of whiplash. The tribunal referred to a WSIAT medical discussion paper on cervical spine disorders, which describes whiplash as arising from sudden flexion-extension movements of the head following impact — the kind of motion that occurs in rear-end collisions. The worker’s accident involved striking the top of her head while straightening up, with no evidence of a flexion-extension motion.

The tribunal noted that the whiplash diagnosis appeared in medical reports prepared years after the accident, and that those reports described the mechanism differently from what the worker herself had said in her testimony and her own claim forms. When a later medical opinion conflicts with the contemporaneous record, the tribunal will scrutinize it carefully.

A worker can claim radiculopathy as work-related, but the timing of symptom onset is critical. The tribunal relied on a WSIAT medical discussion paper on cervical spine disorders. Where a traumatic incident is said to cause radicular pain — pain, numbness, or weakness down the arm — at a site with advanced degenerative change, that paper describes a relatively immediate onset, within the first 48 hours. The tribunal looked for left-arm symptoms immediately after the accident, or within a short period of time.

In this case, the worker’s MRI showed degenerative changes at multiple cervical levels, and a specialist found potential nerve root irritation. The worker did not report left-arm symptoms in the days or weeks after the February 1, 2019 accident, and there was no contemporaneous record of them. She testified that tightness and muscle spasms in her left arm began after she returned to work in October 2019. A chiropractor who treated her in February 2020 recorded left-arm issues, and her family physician’s chart first noted left-arm and left-hand symptoms in September 2021. The tribunal found no onset of radicular symptoms temporally proximate to the accident, and concluded that those symptoms were not caused by the workplace incident.

What Does a Worker Need to Prove to Get a Permanent Impairment Award?

To receive a permanent impairment and Non-Economic Loss (NEL) award, a worker must show that physical or functional abnormalities from the compensable injury persisted after reaching maximum medical recovery. Continuity of the medical record matters enormously.

Here, after the employer’s Form 7 in February 2019, the tribunal found no further medical evidence of neck symptoms or neck treatment until a chiropractor’s records from February 2020, about a year after the accident. The family physician’s chart did not mention neck issues until September 23, 2021, even though the physician had seen the worker several times before February 2020 and recorded other health concerns in detail. The tribunal concluded that the worker had likely recovered from the neck strain within a couple of months of the accident, if not earlier, and that the later ROM deficits documented by a chiropractor and physiotherapist were not reliably connected to the 2019 injury. No NEL award was granted.

When Is a Worker Entitled to a Recurrence of a Compensable Injury?

A recurrence requires three things: a marked deterioration in the original compensable condition, demonstrated by measurable clinical change; that deterioration was not caused by a new accident; and the condition is clinically compatible with the original injury. Occasional or intermittent symptoms are generally not enough.

The worker claimed a recurrence of her head injury roughly three years after the accident. Her own testimony described occasional head pain that came and went quickly, without interfering with work or daily life. Her physician’s notes reflected the same picture — intermittent head pain with no treatment recommended and no functional consequences documented. The tribunal found this did not meet the threshold of a significant deterioration, and denied the recurrence claim.

Questions and Records to Discuss with a Lawyer

  • What contemporaneous records exist from the time of the accident — employer reports, first-aid logs, or early medical notes — that describe the nature and location of the injury?
  • Is there a continuous treatment history linking the current diagnosis to the original workplace accident, or are there unexplained gaps in the medical record?
  • When did symptoms in any body part first appear, and are those dates documented in clinical records rather than only in later reports?
  • Has the WSIB issued a final decision on every aspect of the claim, including permanent impairment, before an appeal to WSIAT is considered?
  • Are there diagnoses — such as carpal tunnel syndrome — that have not yet been adjudicated by the WSIB and may need to go through the initial claims process first?

If you have questions about a WSIB claim, a denied benefit, or how workers’ compensation intersects with your employment situation, our Ontario employment lawyers can help you understand your options. Workers in the Hamilton and Burlington area can also reach our team through our Hamilton employment law page. To discuss your circumstances, reach out to us at /connect.


This article is automated commentary on a public court decision and is for general information only — not legal advice. Decisions rely on facts unique to each case. If you are affected by a similar issue, contact a lawyer for advice specific to your situation.

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

Ready when you are

Get a clear next step.
No obligation.

A short call with our team gives you an honest read on your file — deadlines, documents, and what you can do next.

Explore employment law