Case snapshot
At a glance
- Case
- Can Cancer Survivors Qualify for CPP Disability in Ontario?
- Court / Tribunal
- SST
- Citation
- 2026 SST 588 ↗
- Date
- October 18, 2026
- Area of law
- Cpp Disability
- Key issue
- Whether a cancer survivor's post-treatment functional limitations were severe enough to prevent any substantially gainful work by the end of her minimum qualifying period.
- Outcome
- The Appeal Division held a de novo hearing and dismissed the appeal. It found the disability was not severe by December 31, 2022, because the evidence showed remaining work capacity and she had not tried to find and keep work suited to her limitations.
- Why it matters
- This decision illustrates how the timing of medical evidence, consistency between earlier self-reports and later hearing testimony, and the obligation to attempt suitable work can all determine whether a CPP disability claim succeeds or fails.
Legal principle
The rule from this case
To qualify for a CPP disability pension, a claimant must prove their disability was both severe and prolonged by the end of their minimum qualifying period — a date set by their CPP contribution history, not by when symptoms began or when they stopped working. A disability is severe only if it makes a person incapable regularly of pursuing any substantially gainful occupation. A job is substantially gainful if it pays the same as or more than the maximum annual CPP disability pension. In 2022 that amount was about $17,500. The tribunal assesses functional limitations, not diagnoses alone. When the evidence shows remaining work capacity, the claimant must show they tried to find and keep a job suited to their limitations, including retraining or a job that accommodates those limitations, and that the efforts failed because of their medical conditions. Simply not returning to a former role is not enough.
Important limits
What this does not mean
This decision does not mean that cancer survivors or people with serious post-surgical complications cannot qualify for CPP disability benefits. The tribunal accepted that the appellant had real functional limitations by the end of 2022, including difficulty sitting longer than one hour, using a computer screen for long periods, talking for a long time, and doing heavy physical labour. It also accepted that she would have had difficulty returning to her former job. The dismissal turned on the evidence for this claimant by December 31, 2022, including remaining work capacity and the absence of an effort to find suitable work. The decision also does not mean a family doctor's opinion is worthless. It means that opinion carries more weight when it addresses functional abilities at the relevant time, explains what limitations would prevent other work, and is grounded in involvement in the care. Here, the October 2025 letter answered a representative's questionnaire that did not ask about limitations in 2022, and the appellant said her family doctor was not really involved after the 2021 surgery.
Does having cancer automatically qualify you for CPP disability benefits?
No — a cancer diagnosis alone does not automatically qualify someone for a CPP disability pension. What matters is whether the medical condition, and the functional limitations it causes, made the person incapable regularly of pursuing any substantially gainful occupation by the end of their minimum qualifying period. In JK v Minister of Employment and Social Development, 2026 SST 588 (CanLII) (https://www.canlii.org/en/ca/sst/doc/2026/2026sst588/2026sst588.html), the Social Security Tribunal Appeal Division dismissed the appeal. The disability was not severe by December 31, 2022.
The appellant stopped working in November 2021, when she had two jobs: operations manager of a healthcare software company, and an independent-contractor operations manager for an ultrasound and diagnostic clinic. In December 2021 she had a radical parotidectomy with facial-nerve sacrifice. She was then diagnosed with cancer of the left parotid gland. Six weeks of radiation ended in March 2022. She later had a series of procedures the medical documents generally describe as minor facial-balancing procedures. In her May 2023 application she said she could not work because of left facial paralysis, vision issues, reduced range of motion, speech difficulties, pain, stiffness, lymphedema, fatigue, and light-headedness. The Appeal Division still found she had not met the severe-disability test by her minimum qualifying period.
What does “severe” mean under the CPP disability test?
A disability is severe if it makes a person incapable regularly of pursuing any substantially gainful occupation — not just their previous job. A job is substantially gainful if it pays the same as or more than the maximum annual CPP disability pension. In 2022 that amount was about $17,500. The tribunal focuses on functional limitations, not on diagnoses.
On the 2023 reports and the medical evidence, the tribunal found she likely had several limitations by the end of 2022. Those included difficulty sitting longer than one hour, difficulty standing in one position for a long time, inability to use a computer screen or talk for a long time, difficulty focusing for more than one hour, inability to do heavy physical labour, and difficulty working long hours because of fatigue. It also found many preserved abilities. In the application she signed on April 30, 2023 — she applied in May 2023 — she rated her ability on 51 tasks. She did not rate any of them as poor. Most ratings were good or very good.
Her otolaryngologist, Dr. Monteiro, wrote in April 2023 that her walking and ambulating appeared to be fine and that she would have difficulty returning to her previous job, which required prolonged sitting and computer work. He said opportunities for modified work could be explored. The tribunal noted that this comment answered a question about whether progressive reintegration would be preferable to a full-time return to that previous job. He did not say she could not do a different type of job.
Why did inconsistencies in testimony hurt this claim?
Differences between hearing evidence and reports made closer to the critical date can make the later testimony less reliable. The Appeal Division hearing was on September 4, 2026. The tribunal treated what she reported in January 2023 and on April 30, 2023, when she signed her application, as more reliable because it was closer in time to the end of 2022. It said the differences were understandable given the time that had passed, but that the 2023 reports were likely more reliable.
At the hearing she said that by the end of 2022 she could sit for about five to ten minutes. In April 2023 she reported a very good ability to sit for at least 20 minutes in a straight-back chair, and said challenges with prolonged sitting occurred after one hour. The tribunal drew the same kind of contrast for computer use and for focus and concentration. It also recorded that in April 2023 she reported a very good ability to remain on her feet for at least 20 minutes, while at the hearing she said standing by the end of 2022 was a bit worse than that five-to-ten-minute sitting tolerance.
Does a claimant have to try to find work before the tribunal will find a severe disability?
When the evidence shows work capacity, the claimant must show that she tried to find and keep a job, and that those efforts failed because of her medical conditions. Finding and keeping a job includes retraining or looking for a job that accommodates her limitations.
She testified that she had not worked since November 2021. She did some volunteer work after December 2022: a cancer society foundation asked her to provide peer support by telephone. She said she did so, though not often, and found it challenging to be on the phone for long periods. The tribunal considered that activity and found it did not show an attempt to find and keep a job suited to her limitations, because it required her to be on the phone for long periods and one of her limitations is prolonged speaking. Because she had not tried to find and keep suitable work, the tribunal could not find the disability was severe.
How much weight does a family doctor’s opinion carry in a CPP disability appeal?
A family doctor’s opinion can support a CPP disability claim, but the Appeal Division gave Dr. Silver’s opinions little weight. Dr. Silver is her family doctor. In October 2025 he answered a questionnaire from her representative. He said she became disabled in December 2021, described the disability as severe, and said she was unable to consider a return to work at the time of that letter. He discussed her office-management job and the effect of vision and speech difficulties on computer work and phone and video calls. He did not explain what limitations would have prevented a different job in and around 2022. The representative’s questions did not ask about her limitations in 2022, and the document did not explain why December 31, 2022 mattered.
It was the appellant, at the hearing, who acknowledged that Dr. Silver was not really involved in her care after the 2021 surgery and that he deferred her cancer care to the specialists. In a brief March 2026 letter to her representative, Dr. Silver said she had been unable to perform any job, full time or part time, since 2021. The only limitation he noted was a lack of stamina, and he did not say whether he meant physical stamina, mental stamina, or both. The tribunal did not find that opinion compelling.
By contrast, Dr. Monteiro’s April 2023 reports were given weight. They were close in time to the end of 2022, he had been involved in her care since 2021, and no specialist report on file contradicted his April 2023 opinion.
Does the CPP disability pension cover the period before you applied?
This decision does not address how far back a CPP disability pension can be paid. As a general rule under section 42(2)(b) of the Canada Pension Plan, which this decision did not apply, a person cannot be deemed disabled earlier than 15 months before the application is received, and payment begins in the fourth month after the deemed date of disability. That general timing rule can limit retroactive payments to at most 11 months before the application.
Questions and records to discuss with a lawyer
- What is your minimum qualifying period date, and do you have medical records from that time that document your functional limitations?
- Have you rated your own functional abilities in an application, and are those ratings consistent with what you would say today about your limitations at the critical date?
- Has any treating specialist commented in writing on your ability to do work other than your former job?
- Have you explored modified work, retraining, or other employment suited to your limitations, and is there a record of those efforts?
- If mental health conditions are part of the claim, is there medical evidence from the relevant time that links them to functional limitations?
If you have questions about a CPP disability claim — whether you are considering applying, have been denied, or are navigating an appeal — our Ontario CPP disability lawyers can review the specifics of your situation. If you are in the Hamilton or Burlington area and want to understand how these rules apply to your circumstances, see our Burlington CPP disability and Hamilton CPP disability pages. Reach out through /connect to discuss your situation.
This article is automated commentary on a public court decision and is for general information only — not legal advice. Decisions rely on facts unique to each case. If you are affected by a similar issue, contact a lawyer for advice specific to your situation.
FAQ
Frequently asked questions
You can appeal to the Social Security Tribunal's General Division. If that appeal is dismissed, you can seek leave to appeal to the Appeal Division. In this case, leave was granted, and the Appeal Division then held a de novo hearing — a fresh look at the evidence, as if the case had not been decided before — and dismissed the appeal.
Not automatically. The legal test asks whether you are incapable regularly of pursuing any substantially gainful occupation, not just your previous job. In 2022, a job was substantially gainful if it paid about $17,500 a year or more, the maximum annual CPP disability pension that year. If the evidence shows capacity for some type of work at that level, the disability may not be found severe.
No. Stopping work is relevant evidence, but the tribunal also looks at functional abilities, medical records from around the critical date, employability factors, and whether the person tried to find and keep work suited to those limitations.